NHAVA Annual Awards

Lonergan Award, 2011 - NEvans, LKochakian, JLonergan, KristenMcGraw, Karen Kersting.JPG

Each Year, NHAVA Recognizes leadership in the field of volunteer management with two different awards.


Click here to nominate!


The Judith Lonergan Award

This award, given to honor outstanding achievement in volunteer administration, is named in honor of Judith Lonergan.  Ms. Lonergan retired in 1998 after spending 25 years as a leading professional in the field of volunteer administration at the state, national, and international levels. She has been and continues to be a leader in the growth and development of the profession and is a founding member of NHAVA. The award is presented annually, traditionally at the NHAVA annual meeting in October and nominations are accepted by September 1st.



The Rookie Award

This award is meant to recognize, honor and support outstanding accomplishments of a volunteer administrator who is relatively new to the profession (experience of 3 years or less).  The award is also presented at the NHAVA Annual Meeting in October.






Past NHAVA Award Winners:


Rookie Award:
2007: Helen Long (United Way of the Greater Seacoast)
2008: Stephanie Hurd (NH Association for the Blind)
2014: Kristen Brassard (AmeriCorps VISTA Community Outreach)
2015: Patrick Hummel (New Hampshire State Parks)
2016: Cindy Marshall (The Huntington at Nashua)
2017: Liz Devine (UpReach Therapeutic Equestrian Center)


Judith Lonergan Award:
1999: Lynne DeVivo (Lakes Region General Hospital)
2000: David Coombs (American Red Cross- Greater Manchester Chapter)
2001: Jean Desany (Voluntary Action Center) & Dee Martin (American Lung Association of NH)
2002: Debbie Cheever (UNH Cooperative Extension)
2003: Robin Albert (United Way of the Greater Seacoast)
2004: Donald Chesnel (NH State Elks Association)
2005: Nancy Evans (UNH Cooperative Extension)
2006: Lois Meredith (NH Gathering of the Scottish Clans)
2007: Donna Wright (Elliott Hospital)
2008: Elaine Melquist (Speare Memorial Hospital)
2009: Norah Sutton (Hunt Community)
2010: Doreen Moody (Grafton County Nursing Home)
2011: Lauren Kochakian (UpReach Therapeutic Equestrian Center)
2012: Carol Weeks (Nashua Soup Kitchen)
2013: Carol Raymond (Squam Lakes Natural Science Center)
2014: Jolee Chase (UNH Cooperative Extension)
2015: Heidi Mitchell (New Hampshire Hospital)
2016: Jane Fletcher (Granite State College)
2017: Patrick Hummel (New Hampshire State Parks)